Towns, Villages & Hamlets
Home of the world’s largest mallard duck, Andrew is located in the northeast of Lamont County on Secondary Highway 855, and south of Highway 45. Andrew is also three km northwest of Whitford Lake which is a major flyway for waterfowl. A must see for bird watchers, especially in the spring and fall. While you are in Andrew, visit the Andrew Museum and climb aboard the caboose car. If you would like to “putter around” a little, stop by the Andrew Mini-golf for an enjoyable round of mini golf.
“The grass really is greener”
Bruderheim is a progressive community located on Highway 45 along the western boundary of Lamont County. The old Walker School and the Moravian Church Museum are two historic sites located in the heart of the town. The settlement of Bruderheim was established in 1894 and now boasts a population of 1298. (2012 census) The Bruderheim hockey arena and full-sized outdoor rink provide some of the best ice in the area and provide winter fun for all. The many events and programs give residents and visitors year-round activities.
The village of Chipman, more fondly known as “Coyote Country”, is located 11 km east of Lamont on Highway 15. Prior to 1905, Chipman District was part of the North West Territories. In 1905 the Canadian National Railway was laid, a town site was surveyed and a railway station and water tower were built. The settlement and later village was named after Clarence Campbell Chipman, secretary to the Commissioner of Railways. A monument erected in the village church grounds commemorates Wasyl Eleniak, the first Ukrainian settler to arrive in the west. Chipman is home of the Edmonton Soaring Club and welcomes visitors from all across Canada to “Come Soar with Us.” Chipman, a small community, is doing “big things” to become a leader in protecting the environment. The result is “Village Green”, a comprehensive recycling project involving all 239 residents of the community.
The hamlet of Hilliard is located a short distance east of the village of Chipman on Highway 15 and was named after the first station agent, Frank Hilliard. Hilliard was a bustling community established in 1905. In the late 20’s and early 30’s a steel foundry and lumber yard were based in Hilliard. Part of Hilliard’s history is being preserved at the Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village where you can step back in time and visit the Hilliard Hotel. Hilliard offers a chance to “green” your home and yard with its plant offerings from the local greenhouse.
“City Living Country Style”
The town of Lamont is situated on Highway 15, five km north of Elk Island National Park. Lamont’s population is approximately 1600, and within this town, the Lamont County’s administration building is located to serve the residents of the county. Lamont serves as a trading center for over 17,000 people and is located in an area that early settlers described as “the nicest open country a person could wish for.” Lamont’s Fair Days in June are an exciting time for visitors and residents. A pancake breakfast, carnival rides and a trade fair are all part of the festivities. Lamont boasts a driving range, tennis courts, fishing hole and a community park.
“The Small Town With A Big Heart”
The town of Mundare is located at the junction of Highway 15 and Highway 16. A rich Ukrainian culture and history is evident throughout this small community and surrounding area. The Basilian Fathers Museum and Shrine are perfect for an afternoon visit or as an extension to a tour of the nearby Ukrainian immigrants and the traditions which aided their new lives. Mundare has a newly developed campsite, fully serviced with 25 stalls. Beaverhill Lake, just west and south of town, offers an extraordinary opportunity to view over 200 species of birds and wildlife. Mundare’s Agridaze is celebrated on the third weekend in August.
The hamlet of St. Michael originated in 1928, when the Canadian Pacific Railway made its way west from Lloydminister to Edmonton. It was named after the local church, the St. Michael Roman Catholic Church and is located in the center of Lamont County between Wostok and Star. Over the intervening years, St.. Michael has undergone many changes and now serves the surrounding area with several small businesses. We pay tribute to those early pioneers and thank them for their part in St. Michael’s history.
In 1892 John Duncan Campbell settled on the Victoria Trail near Beaver Creek. Across the trail, Ed Knowlton build a store and a post office an named it Edna for his daughter. In 1900, the post office was moved to the Campbell house and renamed Star. In 1905, the hamlet was moved building by building to what is now Lamont. In 1928 the Canadian Pacific Railway was built 1.5 km north of the original Star. The post office was moved there in 1929 and the new hamlet became Star. The community was a major centre for grain transport, supported three stores and a car dealership. Today Star consists of a few residents but anyone who lived in Star for any length of time will remember it with fondness.
The settlement of Wostok is south of Highway 45, a short distance west of Andrew. The Wostok post office was established in 1899 followed by the establishment of a number of businesses. The name “Wostok” was borrowed from the Russian language meaning the direction “east”. Theodore Nemirsky was the first postmaster at Wostok and on July 1, 1899 the Post Office was officially opened. In 1897 a priest and Deacon visited the area from Seattle and conducted the first Russian Greek Orthodox Church service on Canadian soil.