2021 Municipal Election 

Monday, October 18, 2021

In Lamont County, each of the five electoral divisions elects one Councillor to a term of office for four years. There is no limit on the number of times a Councillor can be re-elected. After the general municipal election, the five Councillors elect from among themselves a Reeve and a Deputy Reeve at an Organizational Meeting held annually in October.

This webpage is intended to provide all the information you need to participate in the 2021 municipal election as a candidate and an elector. Information will be updated periodically; if you would like to be informed of updates as they happen, click the "subscribe" button on the left sidebar, and check the box to receive updates from this page.

Please direct any questions about the election to the Returning Officer, Aileen Burke by email or phone 780-895-2233.

Senate Election Proclamation
For the purpose of electing 3 person(s) according to the Alberta Senate Election Act, whose name(s) is(are) to be submitted by the Government of Alberta to the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada as a person(s) who may be summoned to the Senate of Canada for the purpose of filling a vacancy(-ies) relating to Alberta. . .

COMMENCING immediately and continuing until 2:00 P.M. on September 20, 2021, excluding Sundays and holidays, nomination papers may be filed with the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer during normal business hours at 100, 11510 Kingsway NW, Edmonton, AB T5G 2Y5, for a candidate under the Alberta Senate Election Act.

View and download the Official Senate Proclamation (PDF)

Candidate Information

You are eligible to run as a candidate if you meet ALL of the following criteria:
  • At least 18 years of age on Nomination Day
  • Canadian citizen
  • Resident of the local jurisdiction for the six consecutive months immediately preceding Nomination Day
  • In a municipality with a ward system, you must be a resident of the ward or the electoral division in which you intend to run for the six consecutive months immediately preceding Nomination Day.
Nomination Information Package (.pdf)
New for 2021, the Local Authorities Election Act (LAEA) prescribes nomination period begins January 1 (Monday January 4, 2021) until 12:00 p.m. on Monday September 20, 2021.

The official list of Lamont County candidates who have filed their nomination papers to run in the 2021 Municipal Election will be posted on the Lamont County website as they are received.
Nomination Forms (.pdf)
Local Election Rule Changes
The Government of Alberta has updated the Local Authorities Election Act that outlines election rules in municipalities, school boards, Metis Settlements and irrigation districts. The following Bills have been passed since the last Municipal Election was held:
Please view the pages below for important summary of changes for candidates:
Election Signs
You do not require a permit to install an election sign along provincial highways, however you must follow the provincial guidelines:
  • The maximum sign size permitted in a highway right-of-way (the existing highway limits) is 1.5 m2
  • Election signs are temporary and are only permitted from the date the election is called until 3 days after the election
  • Signs must meet eligibility criteria
If a sign does not comply with these guidelines, a peace officer or a person authorized by Alberta Transportation may, without notice or compensation, remove the sign.

Visit the Alberta Government Election Signs webpage for the requirements on eligibility, placement, safety precautions, and removal.

Voter Information

You are eligible to vote if you meet ALL of the following criteria:
  • At least 18 years of age
  • Canadian citizen
  • Lived in Alberta for six consecutive months immediately preceding Election Day
  • Resident of Lamont County
  • Provided the required proof of eligibility as required by Section 53 of the Local Authorities Election Act.
Elector Forms (.pdf)

Historical Election Details*

2017 Election Results

# of Votes
1 Daniel Warawa Acclaimed
2 Wayne Woldanski 153
2 George Kolmas 94
2 Michael Burant 90
3 David Diduck 221
3 Robert Payton 39
4 Roy Anaka 113
4 Terry Levicki 60
5 Neil Woitas 145
5 Robert Malica 141

Historical Voter Turnout

2017 1056 n/a 4 1
2013 1121 2323 4 1
2010 1139 2894 4 1
2007 1563 2956 4 0
2004 1126 3000 4 0
2001 1023 3000 3 1

*All historical voting information was taken from Alberta Municipal Affairs.